Government Policy

Premier Division Hockey: Mohammedan SC, Abahani Ltd win

Two arch-rivals –defending champions Dhaka Mohammedan SC and former champions Abahani Limited –won their respective super league matches of the Green Delta Insurance Premier Division Hockey beating their rivals at the Maulana Bhasani National Stadium here on Sunday.

Dhaka Mohammedan SC earned the first victory in the five–team super league outplaying Bangladesh Sporting Club by 8-2 goals Sunday afternoon.

Menini struck three, Gonzalo Peilat two, Rajib Das, Ajit Kumar Ghosh and Aminul Islam scored one goal each for the traditional black and whites Mohammedan.

Also read: Premier Hockey: Mariner YC maintains all-win run beating Abahani

Krishna Kumar and Harshukhpreet Singh scored for the Bangladesh SC.

In the day’s other match, coming from behind, Abahani Limited beat Sonali Bank SC by 5-2 goals Sunday evening.

Khorshedur Rahman scored three, Mahbub Hossain and Hasan Jubair Niloy scored one each for the sky-blue Dhanmondi outfit Abahani while Al Nahian Shuvo and Rakibul Hasan Rocky scored one each for the bankers’ team.

After the day’s matches, Dhaka Mohammedan and Abahani Limited secured 33 points each playing 12 and 13 matches respectively while Club Cup champions Dhaka Mariner Youngs’ Club dominated the league with all-win record collecting full 36 points from straight 12 outings.

Source: United News of Bangladesh