Najmul XI register big win in BCB President’s Cup

Najmul XI beat Mahmudullah XI once again in the ongoing BCB President’s Cup. Their latest win came on Saturday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium by a big margin of 131 runs.

Mahmudullah XI have now lost two games in their matches, which means, their route to the final became tougher now.

Mahmudullah XI won the toss and sent Najmul XI bat first. They posted a total of 264 runs riding on the superb 98 runs by Afif Hossain. In reply, Mahmudullah XI tumbled for 133 runs for 10 wickets in just 32.1 overs.

Nurul Hasan Shohan and Liton Das were the highest runs getter for Mahmudullah XI scoring 28 and 27. The others batsmen disappointed once again.

Imrul Kayes (4), Mominul Haque (13) and Mahmudullah Riyad (11) failed to come out of their bad patch.

For Najmul XI, right-arm pacer Abu Jayed Rahid and left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed bagged three wickets each conceding 34 and 23 runs respectively, while Rishad Hossain and Al Amin Hossain took two and one wickets respectively.

Earlier, Left-handed batsman Afif posted a wonderful 98 to propel Najmul XI to a challenging total of 264, also the highest in the event so far, for eight wickets off their allotted overs.

Mahmudullah Riyad, the captain of the Mahmudullah XI, won the toss and opted to bowl first. Soumya Sarkar and Parvez Hossain Emon, who got his first chance in the event, added only 13 runs in the first wicket stand.

Rubel Hossain struck twice at the start of the innings removing Soumya and Najmul Hossain Shanto in the same over. Soumya managed to score 13 runs while Najmul posted 3.

After losing three wickets in 31 runs, Najmul XI posted 147 runs in the fourth wicket stand with the help of Mushfiqur Rahim and Afif Hossain. Only for the second time in the event, Mushfiqur and Afif formed a hundred-run stand.

Afif got run out when he was at 98 off 108 balls with 12 fours and one six. Mushfiqur fell scooping Ebadot Hossain for 52 off 92 balls with a four.

After Mushfiqur’s removal, Towhid Hridoy (27 off 29 with two fours), and Irfaan Shukkur (48 not-out off 31 with four fours and two sixes) guided Najmul XI to 264 for eight in 50 overs.

For Mahmudullah XI, Rubel bagged three wickets conceding 53 runs in 10 overs while Ebadat Hossain took two wickets conceding 60 runs in 10 overs.

Brief score: Najmul XI 264/8 in 50 overs, Afif 98, Mushfiq 52, Irfaan 48, Towhid 27, Parvez 19; Rubel 3/53, Ebadat 2/60, Sumon 1/52.

Mahmudullah XI: 133/10 in 32.1 overs, Sohan 28, Liton 27, Miraz 16, Mominul 13, Mahmudul 13, Nasum 28/3, Rahi 34/3

Source: United News of Bangladesh