Mustafizur finds place in ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2021

Bangladesh left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman found a place in the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2021, ICC revealed on Wednesday.

Mustafizur is the only Bangladeshi cricketer to find a place in this team.

The Bangladesh left-arm seamer again ruled the roost in T20I cricket in 2021 with his clever variations and change of pace. Lethal upfront and at the death, he scalped 28 wickets in 20 matches at an average of 17.39. He also proved tough for the batters to get away as proven by his economy of 7.00, the ICC statement reads.

The other pacers of the team are Josh Hazlewood of Australia and Shaheen Afridi of Pakistan.

Two more Pakistanis found a place each in this team— Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam. While Rizwan was selected as an opener, Babar was designated the captain of this team. The other Asian player in this team is Wanindu Hasaranga. It means, there is no player in this team from India.

Like Pakistan, South Africa also have three players in this team— Tabriz Shamsi, David Miller and Aiden Markram. Along with Hazlewood, Australia also have Mitchel Marsh.

As the only Englishman, Jos Buttler found a place in ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2021.

Like India, no New Zealand player was selected for this team.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2021:

Jos Buttler, Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam, Aiden Markram, Mitchel Marsh, David Miller, Tabriz Shamsi, Josh Hazlewood, Wanindu Hasranga, Mustafizur Rahman and Shaheen Afridi.

Source: United News of Bangladesh