Mushfiqur guides Dhaka to third win in row

National team stalwart and the captain of Beximco Dhaka, Mushfiqur Rahim, guided Dhaka to their third win in a row beating Gazi Group Chattogram by seven runs on Sunday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

With this win, Dhaka has become number three on the points table in the ongoing Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020. They now have secured six points from three wins in six games.

Chattogram won the toss and sent Dhaka bat first. With the help of Mushfiqur’s 73 not-out, Dhaka posted a moderate total of 145 runs for four wickets in 20 overs.

Despite a total contribution of 20 runs from the top three batsmen, Mushfiqur and Yasir Ali added 80 runs in the fourth wicket stand. Sabbir Rahman took the field as the opener in this game but failed to come out from the bad patch he has been going through for long. This time around, he posted only seven runs while his partner Mohammad Naim scored 13 runs. Tanzid Hasan, who had made a good start at the event in the early matches, suffered a duck in this game.

Mushfiqur ended up not-out on 73 off 50 balls with seven fours and three sixes while Yasir scored 34 off 38 balls with three fours and fell prey Mustafizur Rahman. After his dismissal, Akbar Ali came in and remained unbeaten for 10 of nine balls.

For Chattogram, Nahidul Islam, Shoriful Islam, Rakibul Hasan and Mustafizur took one wicket each.

In reply, Chattogram tumbled for 138 for nine in 20 overs. Soumya Sarkar was the only batsman who failed to have a solid start for Chattogram. But the other top batsman of them failed to continue on the good run despite securing a good start.

While Soumya suffered a duck, Liton Das posted 47 off 39 balls with three fours and one six. Mahmudul Hasan Joy, who came to play for the first time in this event, posted 26 off 24 balls with one four and one six.

Mohammad Mithun (21), Mosaddek Hossain (13) and Shamsur Rahman (10) also made good starts but disappointed to continue, and eventually, they tumbled for 138 for nine in 20 overs and tasted their first defeat in the event.

For Dhaka, right-arm allrounder Muktar Ali took three wickets conceding 39 runs in four overs while Rubel Hossain and Robiul Islam Robi bagged two wickets each.

Source: United News of Bangladesh