Municipal Polls: Distribution of BNP’s nomination papers begins Tuesday

BNP will formally start the distribution of its nomination papers from tomorrow (Tuesday) to those who want to contest the upcoming first phase of elections to 25 municipalities with the party’s election symbol ‘Sheaf of Paddy’.

The party aspirants can collect the nomination forms from the party chairperson’s Gulshan office or the party’s district offices from Tuesday, said a BNP press release on Monday.

It said those who will collect the nomination forms must submit those to party chairperson’s Gulshan office by November 29 following the guidelines and conditions of the party.

Earlier on September 18, BNP formulated guidelines for nominating its candidates for the upcoming elections to upazila parishads, municipalities and union parishads.

As per the guidelines, the party’s district unity president/convener, general secretary/member secretary or No-1 joint general secretary, municipality unit president/convener, general secretary/member secretary and No-1 joint general secretary will recommend in written for the nomination of the BNP’s municipality mayor and councillor candidates, and will send it to BNP chairperson’s Gulshan office with necessary papers, including NID card and updated voter list, five working days before the last date of submitting nomination papers.

According to the scheduled announced by the Election Commission (EC), the first phase of municipal elections will be held on December 28.

The deadline for the submission of nomination papers is on December 1, while the date for the scrutiny of nomination papers is on December 3 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is on December 10.

The 25 municipalities that will go to polls on December 28 are Panchagarh of Panchagarh, Pirganj of Thakurgaon, Fulbari of Dinajpur, Badarganj of Rangpur, Kurigram of Kurigram, Puthia and Katakhali of Rajshahi, Shahjadpur of Sirajganj, Chatmohor of Pabna, Kokhsha of Kushtia, Chuadanga of Chuadanga, Chalna of Khulna, Betagi of Barguna, Kuakata of Patuakhali, Ujirpur and Bakerganj of Barishal, Gafargoan of Mymensingh, Madan of Netrakona, Dhamrai of Dhaka, Sreepur of Gazipur, Dirai of Sunanganj, Borolekha of Moulvibazar, Sayestaganj of Habiganj and Sitakunda of Chhattogram.

The voting will be conducted through the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) from 8am to 4pm without any break.

According to Local Government Division, there are 329 municipalities in the country and the EC will hold elections to 224 in different phases as their tenures will expire by March 2021.

Source: United News of Bangladesh