Mhmudullah, Rubel, Nurul Spark in DPL T20 2021

The fourth round of the DPL T20 was held on June 7 with a one-day break and the tournament has become more competitive. Prime Doleshwar, Prime Bank, Gazi Group, Sheikh Jamal, Brothers Union, and Khelaghar won their respective matches in this round. Big teams like Abahani and Mohammedan suffered their first defeats in the tournament. On the other side, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club is still undefeated after four consecutive wins. National stars Mahmudullah Riyad, Nurul Hasan Sohan, and Rubel Hossain, all played well in the fourth round. The outcomes of the fourth round of the DPL T20 2021 are discussed in this article. The winners of the DPL T20 2021 fourth round

All fourth-round matches of the Dhaka Premier League were held on Monday. Let’s have a look at the results of this round.

Shinepukur Cricket Club vs Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club

Veteran all-rounder Farhad Reza-led Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club played their fourth-round match against Shinepukur Cricket Club on Monday at SBNCS, Mirpur. Reza’s aggressive batting display guided Prime Doleshwar to seal their third victory of the season and they have now climbed to the top of the points table.

Batting first, Shinepukur scored 162/7 in the allotted 20 overs. Young wicket-keeper batsman Mahidul Islam Ankon scored the highest 44 off 32 runs for the team. For Prime Doleshwar, Shamim Hossain and Rejaur Rahman picked two wickets each.

In reply, PDSC reached the target with two balls in hand for the loss of 6 wickets. Skipper Farhad Reza played an unbeaten 27* off 11 balls knock while came into bat at no.6 and secured the victory for his side. Mohor Sheikh picked up two wickets for Shinepukur CC.

Prime Bank Cricket Club vs Partex Sporting Club

Prime Bank Cricket Club continued a good run of form in the ongoing DPL T20 cricket league as they beat Partex Sporting Club by 72 runs in their fourth-round match at BKSP, Savar, and moved up to the second position in the standings.

Opting to bat first, Prime Bank managed to score 167/5 in 20 overs. Veteran Tamim Iqbal made 47 runs while hammering 3 huge sixes player of the match-winner Mohammad Mithun contributed the highest 57 runs for the side. Leg-spinner Jubair Hossain (1/22) was the most successful bowler for Partex.

In chase, Partex were bowled out for 95 in just 17.2 overs. Opener Abbas Musa hammered 29 with a strike rate of 223.07. But after his departure, Partex innings fell apart and Prime Bank wrapped them up with 16 balls in hand. Skiddy pacer Rubel Hossain bagged 4 wickets for 30 runs in his 4 overs spell.

Legends of Rupganj vs Gazi Group Cricketers

In Savar, Gazi Group beat Legends of Rupganj quite comprehensively by 7 wickets and registered their second victory of the season.

Opting to field first, Gazi Group restricted Legends of Rupganj to 132/8 runs in 20 overs. Mehedi Maruf (24) was the top scorer for Legends of Rupganj. Skipper Mahmudullah Riyad was outstanding with the ball for Gazi Group, he picked up 2 wickets for 19 runs.

In chase, Gazi Group Cricketers reached the winning target with 13 balls to spare. Soumya Sarkar (53) and Mominul Haque (34) made valuable contributions with the bat for Gazi. The national team capped player Mohammad Shahid (1/22) was the most successful player for Rupganj.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club vs Mohammedan Sporting Club

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club registered their second victory of the season after winning their fourth-round match against Shakib Al Hasan’s Mohammedan Sporting Club by 16 runs at the SBNCS, Mirpur.

Batting first, Sheikh Jamal put up 161/5 runs on board to defend thanks to wicket-keeper batsman Nurul Hasan’s blazing 66 off 34 and Ziaur Rahman’s 35 off 17 balls knocks. Shakib Al Hasan did what he usually does with the ball, he picked up 2 wickets and conceded only 12 runs in 4 overs.

In chase, Mohammedan only managed to score 145/8 in 20 overs. Nadif Chowdhury scored highest 57, while Mohammad Enamul bagged 3 wickets for 13 runs. Nurul Hasan won man of the match award for his outstanding batting.

Brothers Union vs Old DOHS Sports Club

Brothers Union beat Old DOHS Sports Club by 2 runs in a closely-contested match in Savar. It was Brothers second victory of the season.

Batting first, Brothers Union scored 139/5 in 20 overs. Middle order batsman Myshukur Rahaman made highest 68 runs, while Al Islam took 2 wickets for Old DOHS.

In chase, Old DOHS managed to score 137 despite losing only 3 wickets. Opener Anisul Islam Emon scored highest 64 runs. Rahatul Ferdous (1/15) was the best among Brothers Union bowlers.

Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity vs Abahani Limited

Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity stunned hot favorite Abahani after winning the contest by 8 runs in Savar on Monday.

Opting to bat first, Khelaghar made a challenging 164/6-run in 20 overs. Opener Imtiaz Hossain (66) and Mehidy Hasan Miraz (33) played two crucial innings for Khelaghar. Abahani’s two spinners – Arafat Sunny and Mosaddek Hossain took two wickets each.

Abahani finished their innings 8 runs short of victory while chasing the target. They scored 156/5. Mohammad Naim and Najmul Hossain both scored 49 runs each, while Khaled Ahmed and Rony Chowdhury both picked up 2 wickets each for Khelaghar.

Bottom Line

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club leads the standings with 7 points after the fourth round of the DPL T20 2021. On the other hand, Prime Bank Cricket Club, Abahani Limited, and Mohammedan Sporting Club are in second, third, and fourth positions, with 6 points each. These four teams will definitely be on the list of favourites to win this year’s event, even though the tournament has just started. How the national team players are performing is the most important thing for the BCB and despite expectations, players from the national side set up are still not able to perform at their best.

Source: United News of Bangladesh