General

Martyred Intellectuals Day: Bangabandhu Cultural and Research Society to host discussion, literary performance

Canada-based Bangabandhu Cultural and Research Society will host an online discussion on the occasion Sunday.

The programme will also feature a performance of songs and recitation of poems on the Liberation War of Bangladesh. It will start at 9am Vancouver time, 11pm Bangladesh time, and 12 noon New York time.

On December 14, 1971, in the retreating Pakistani army’s final act of infamy, the country’s renowned academicians, doctors, engineers, journalists, artistes, teachers and other eminent personalities were dragged out of their homes, blindfolded and taken to unknown places and then brutally tortured and murdered.

Among the martyred intellectuals were Professor Munier Chowdhury, Dr Alim Chowdhury, Professor Muniruzzaman, Dr Fazle Rabbi, Sirajuddin Hossain, Shahidullah Kaiser, Professor GC Dev, JC Guhathakurta, Professor Santosh Bhattacharya, Mofazzal Haider Chowdhury, journalists Khandaker Abu Taleb, Nizamuddin Ahmed, SA Mannan, ANM Golam Mustafa, Syed Nazmul Haq and Selina Parvin.

The killing of Bengali intellectuals in 1971 and the perspective of today’s bigotry will be discussed at Sunday’s event.

Also, there will be discussions on a recently published book on martyred journalist Sirajuddin Hossain.

Abdul Gaffar Chowdhury, Shaheen Reza Nur, Brigadier General Shaheed Jamil’s daughter Tehmina Enayet, Touhid Reza Noor, poet Asad Chowdhury, and Dr Haider Ali Khan will be keynote speakers of the programme.

The purpose of Bangabandhu Cultural and Research Society is to inspire the new generation of Bangladesh with the spirit of the Liberation War through thoughtful discussions.

Source: United News of Bangladesh