Mahadi, Hasan, Shoriful new faces in Tigers ODI squad

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Saturday announced an 18-member ODI squad for the upcoming three-match series against West Indies.

The squad includes Mahadi Hasan, Hasan Mahmud and Shoriful Islam. All three of them are uncapped in this format of the game.

Shakib Al Hasan makes a comeback following his ban by the ICC, along with Taskin Ahmed. Shakib was banned for a year due to failing to report corrupt approaches while Taskin was struggling with his form and fitness for long. Taskin played his last ODI back in 2017 in South Africa.

It will be Bangladesh’s first International series after the Covid-19 hiatus. They played their last ODI back in March in 2020 against Zimbabwe at home.

The ODI series kicks off on January 20 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. The venue will host the second ODI on January 22 before the final match of ODI series takes place in Chattogram on January 25.

Bangladesh ODI squad for WI series: Tamim Iqbal (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mahadi Hasan, Hasan Mahmud and Shoriful Isla

Source: United News of Bangladesh