JS adopts condolence motion at deaths of ex-MPs, noted personalities

Parliament on Sunday unanimously adopted a condolence motion expressing profound grief at the demise of an ex-member of Ganoparishad, a former state minister, four ex-MPs and some noted personalities.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury moved the condolence motion in the House at the beginning of the 10th session of the 10th parliament (also a special session marking the Mujib Borsho).

The ex-member of Ganoparishad is Syed AKM Emdadul Bari (Brahmanbaria-4), while the former state minister is AKM Mosharraf Hossain (also MP in 7th and 8th Parliament from Mymensingh-5), the four other ex-MP are Alhaj Mamataz Begum (9th parliament from reserved seat), Nurul Islam (6th and 8th Parliament from Khulna-4), Khandkar Golam Mostafa (2nd parliament from erstwhile Rangpur-11) and Shamsul Haque Talukdar (3rd Parliament from Tangail-2).

The late noted personalities include Attorney General Mahbubey Alam, noted lawyer and former attorney general Barrister Rafique-ul Haque, Amir of Hefazat-e-Islam Allama Shah Ahmad Shafi, former director of Bangla Academy and Ekushey Padak winning littérateur Rashid Haider and ‘Kali o Kolom’ Editor Abul Hasnat.

Besides, the House expressed profound shock at the death of the doctors, health workers, members of the administration and police, political leaders, media persons, businessmen, dignitaries,and employees of the government and private sectors, who lost their lives due to Covid-19 infection at home and abroad.

The Parliament also expressed deep shock at the death of those who were killed in accidents at home and abroad.

The members of the House also stood up and observed a one-minute solemn silence to pay respect to the memories of the deceased.

A munajat seeking eternal peace of the departed souls was offered in the House. Bazlul Haque Haroon, AL MP elected from Jhalokathi-1 constituency conducted the munajat.

Source: United News of Bangladesh