Independence Cup football likely to begin Nov 27

The next football season begins with the Independence Cup Football, marking the 50th year of the country’s Independence and the birth centenary of the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibar Rahman, that is likely to begin on November 27 at the Shaheed Shipahi Mohammad Mostafa Kamal Stadium in Kamalapur.

Fifteen teams -twelve premier division clubs and three services teams—Bangladesh Army, Bangladesh Navy and Bangladesh Air Force—will play in this year’s curtain raiser soccer meet, arranged in place of traditional Federation Cup Football.

Independence Cup Football will be followed by Federation Cup Football and Premier League Football.

Twelve participating premier league clubs are: Bashundhara Kings, Sheikh Jamal DC, Dhaka Abahani Ltd, Mohammedan SC, Sheikh Russel KC, Saif Sportsing Club, Chattogram Abahani Ltd, Muktijoddha Sangsad KC, Bangladesh Police SC, Uttar Baridhara Club, Rahmatganj MFS, Swadinata KC.

Source: United News of Bangladesh