HC issues contempt of court rule against DU VC , 3 others

The High Court on Wednesday issued a contempt of court rule against Vice -Chancellor of Dhaka University (DU) Prof Dr Md Akhtaruzzaman, former VC AAMS Arefin Siddique and two others for failing to comply with a court order.

The HC bench of Justice Mamnoon Rahman and Justice Khandaker Diliruzzaman issued the rule.

The two other respondents to the rule are its acting registrar Prabir Kumar Sarkar and former registrar Rezaur Rahman. The rule is returnable in four weeks.

Advocate Asrarul Haque stood for the petitioner while deputy attorney general Amit Das Gupta represented the state.

Advocate Asrarul Haque, said the DU authorities promoted three teachers of Psychology Department in May 2006.

Ayesha Mahmud, a teacher of the department, filed a writ petition for not getting the promotion.

On August 11, 2009, the High Court asked the DU authorities to provide all facilities to the teacher as a senior teacher effective from May, 2006.

The HC also cancelled the promotion order of the three teachers.

On April 8, 2010, the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court upheld the promotion of the three teachers and also upheld the order of the High Court.

Advocate Asrarul Haque also said the teacher filed a contempt of court rule as the DU authorities did not give her seniority and other benifits complying with the court order.

Source: United News of Bangladesh