First-ever ‘cluster’ admission tests in 20 public universities held

The first-ever combined tests of 20 general, science, and technology universities for the academic year 2020-21 were held on Sunday.

Considering the Covid-19 situation, authorities have set up 28 exam centres across Bangladesh, according to Wahiduzzaman, member secretary of the Cluster Admission Test Committee.

Some 361,406 students have applied to take part in the cluster admission tests for public universities.

Among them, 194 841 applied to science departments but only 131,905 students got the chance to sit for the test.

The exams for the humanities (B) and commerce units (C) are scheduled to be held on October 24 and November 1 respectively.

Students had to go for an hour-long test consisting of multiple choice questions (MCQs) of 100 marks. Based on the results of the test, an academic merit list will be published soon.

According to the central admission test committee, it has been decided that the HSC syllabus will be followed with a total of 100 MCQs while 0.25 marks will be deducted for each wrong answer.

Some 107,933 students applied to the humanities department, while 58,632 students applied to the business department.

The central admission test committee announced that 2,505 students have taken the “A” unit admission test. “We have managed to complete everything [Sunday’s test] smoothly so far,” said Comilla University Vice-Chancellor Imran Kabir Chowdhury.

The 20 universities conducting the cluster admission tests are – Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University, Barisal University, Begum Rokeya University Rangpur, Cumilla University, Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University, Islamic University, Jagannath University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Jashore University of Science and Technology, Khulna University, Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University, Pabna University of Science and Technology, and Shahjalal University of Science and Technology.

Source: United News of Bangladesh