Fifties from Mushfiqur, Mosaddek power Abahani’s win

Two stunning fifties from Mushfiqur Rahim and Mosaddek Hossain powered Abahani Limited’s fourth win in the ongoing Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Twenty20 Cricket League on Tuesday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Abahani won the toss in this game and sent Gazi Group Cricketers bat first, who posted a challenging total of 150 runs for eight wickets in 20 overs.

Mahedi Hasan and Soumya Sarkar came up with a 78-run stand in this game. Mahedi fell prey to Aminul Islam, who ended up taking two wickets in this game, for 43 while Soumya smashed his first fifty, 67 off 50 with six fours and two sixes, of the season. Mominul Haque was the only other Gazi Group batsman to have reached a double-digit score, 12, in this game.

While Aminul bagged two wickets for Abahani, Shohidul Islam also scalped two wickets but he conceded 41 runs in four overs.

In reply, Abahani openers, Mohammad Naim and Munim Shahriar, posted only 28 runs in the first wickets, and number three Najmul Hossain Shanto scored five. Before reaching 50 runs, Abahani lost three wickets.

In the fourth wicket stand, Mushfiqur and Mosaddek added 105 runs, remaining unbeaten for 53 and 50 respectively, and sealed the game for Abahani by seven wickets with 12 balls to play.

Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan and Sanjit Saha bagged one wicket each for Gazi Group.

In the other games of the day at BKSP, Brothers Union beat Partex Sporting Club by 33 runs, and Prime Bank Cricket Club beat Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by seven wickets.

Source: United News of Bangladesh