Eropean Football Season 2020-21: Individual Award Winners

The European football season 2020-2021 has come to a close. Several star footballers emerged across Europe last season. Also, the majority of the world’s finest footballers contributed to their teams’ success. Usually, the top performers of the champion teams are picked for the best player awards and the expected players won trophies in the European football season 2020-2021.

Award-winning footballers of 2020-2021 European season

Let’s take a look at the award-winning footballers from the top five European leagues – the English Premier League, Italian Serie A, Bundesliga, and French League.

English Premier League award winners

We saw a superb contest between Premier League clubs until the middle of the season. However, Manchester City turned their fortunes around with a 15-game winning streak and eventually won the Premier League for the fifth time and the third time in the past four seasons.

Belgian midfielder Kevin de Bruyne was Man City’s most important player last season. He scored 10 goals in 40 appearances for the Citizens and earned his second consecutive PFA Player of the Year award. Before that, only Arsenal’s Thierry Henry and Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo won two players of the year awards in a row. Meanwhile, Manchester City’s defender Ruben Dias earned the Premier League Player of the season 2020-2021 award.

Premier League award winners

Player of the Season: Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Young Player of the Season: Phil Foden (Manchester City)

Goal of the Season: Erik Lamela (Tottenham)

Manager of the Season: Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)

Italian Serie A award winners

Inter Milan won the Serie A title for the first time in 11 years while Juventas failed to win it for the first time in ten years. Belgian striker RomeluLukaku was the most important player for Inter Milan. He scored 24 goals for the Nerazzurri to help them win the league for the 19th time.

Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo and AC Milan goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma also won awards.

Italian Serie A award winners

Most Valuable Player: Belgium RomeluLukaku (Internazionale)

Best Striker: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

Best Midfielder: NicolòBarella (Internazionale)

Best Defender: Cristian Romero (Atalanta)

Best Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Donnarumma (Milan)

Best Young Player: DušanVlahovic (Fiorentina)

Winners in Bundesliga

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski received the player of the season award, breaking Gerd Muller’s record of most goals in a season. The Polish striker scored 42 goals in only 29 games for the Bavarians, helping them win the German Bundesliga for the 31st time.

Lewandowski won the award for the fifth and second seasons in a row. Dortmund’s English midfielder Jude Bellingham was named the Silver Arrow award winner for the best young player.

Ligue 1 award winners

Paris Saint-Germain striker KylianMbappé has won the Ligue 1 player of the year award for the second year in a row despite failing to win a major trophy last season. Lillie won the French league title in 2020-2021. However, only two Lillie players made the cut in the team of the season.

PSG’s KylianMbappé had a fantastic season, scoring 42 goals in 47 games. Meanwhile, Mbappé’s teammate Keylor Navas was named the best goalkeeper of the year following another outstanding season with the club.

Bottom Line

Some new players emerged in addition to the well-known ones at the end of the European football season 2020-2021. The Messi-Ronaldo era is coming to an end. So, stars like KylianMbappé andErlingHaalandwill have to fill the void. Also, the major teams were not very active on the transfer market last year because of Covid-19. So, the big teams did not perform the way they had hoped to and they are likely to be more active in the transfer market this year to make the 2021-2022 season more competitive.

Source: United News of Bangladesh