DU-affiliated seven colleges announce schedule for postponed exams

Dhaka University affiliated seven colleges have announced fresh schedule for Honours and Masters final year examinations which were postponed due to the Covid-19pandemic.

The decision came after a meeting chaired by Professor Muhammad Abdul Moyeen, chief coordinator of the seven colleges on Saturday.

Principals of seven colleges attended the meeting.

Contacted, Prof IK Selim Ullah Khandaker, coordinator of the seven colleges, said, “We have decided to start taking postponed three exams –Masters last semester exam of 2016-17 session, Master’s preli exam of 2017-18 session and National University degree old special exams. “

Masters last semester will be held on January 14, Honours final year exam on 25 January, degree third year exam of 2018 and honours third year exams of 2016-17 sessions will be held in the first week February, he said.

Professor Muhammad Abdul Moyeen said, “We have decided to take exams considering students’ demand. Social distancing rule will be strictly followed.”

The students of these colleges recently announced to hold a protest programme in the capital’s Nilkhet area to press home their seven- point demand but it was postponed.

Their main demand is reduceing session jam in the colleges and taking previous postponed exams immediately.

The students’ other demands included all exam results to be published within 90 days, and the newly attached word “affiliate” should be removed from their certificates.

According to DU sources, there are about 2.5 lakh students at the seven colleges – Dhaka College, Eden Women’s College, Government Shaheed Suhrawardy College, Kabi Nazrul Government College, Begum Badrunnesa Government Women’s College, Government Bangla College and Government Titumir College.

Source: United News of Bangladesh