Cricket Qualifier for 2022 Commonwealth Games: Bangladesh Women’s team to start Campaign on January 18

The Commonwealth Games will be hosted in Birmingham, England from July 28 to August 8, 2022. 72 Commonwealth nations will compete in 283 events across 20 sports in the upcoming edition of the tournament. Under the cricket category, only a women’s tournament will be held this year. The competition will be played in a T20 format. The competition will include eight teams, seven of whom have already qualified. The final team will be determined through a qualification. Let’s take a look at the whole Cricket Qualifier for the 2022 Commonwealth Games schedule.

Schedules of the 2022 Commonwealth Games Cricket Qualifier

The Commonwealth Games Cricket Qualifier will include a total of five teams. Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Scotland, Malaysia, and Kenya are the competing teams. Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Scotland will have a great opportunity to advance to the main event based on their squad strength. As a result, it will be exciting to see who finishes first in the qualifier’s points standings, because only the highest points getter will earn a spot in the 2022 Commonwealth Games. This qualifier competition will be staged in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from January 18 to January 24. The Kinrara Academy Oval ground will host all of the competition’s matches.

Bangladesh Women’s Squad for Cricket Qualifier for 2022 Commonwealth Games

Bangladesh selectors picked a 15-member Women’s squad for the 2022 Commonwealth Games Cricket Qualifier. They have also added three players to their Stand By list. The absence of pacer Jahanara Alam from the main team is one of the biggest surprises in the squad. The BCB acknowledged that Jahanara’s absence from the squad was due to a disciplinary infraction. According to the report, she was in charge of dividing the team into different groups, and she was not pleased with the pick of Nigar Sultana Joty as the T20 captain.

Meanwhile, Jahanara Alam has filed a formal complaint to BCB, claiming that the Women’s wing is biased and that the team is mismanaged. On the other hand, the BCB insists that Jahanara Alam is an important member of the Bangladesh Women’s team.

Bangladesh Squad

Nigar Sultana Joty (Captain), Murshida Khatun, Nahida Akter, Sharmin Akter Supta, Lata Mondol, Sobhana Mostary, Fariha Islam Trisna, Rumana Ahmed, Salma Khatun, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Shamima Sultana, Fahima Khatun, Ritu Moni, Suraiya Azmim, Shanjida Akther Maghla

Stand By:

Nuzhat Tasnia, Khadiza-Tul Kubra, Jahanara Alam

Bottom Line

According to the Cricket Qualifier for the 2022 Commonwealth Games schedule, Bangladesh will begin their campaign against Kenya and finish the tournament against a formidable Sri Lankan team. The Bangladesh Women’s team is regarded as the most difficult of the participating teams. They will be looking for an easy victory over Kenya and Malaysia. However, Bangladesh’s hopes of qualifying for the Commonwealth Games will be determined by the results of the matches against Scotland and Sri Lanka. As a result, these two contests will be more difficult for the tigresses.

Source: United News of Bangladesh