Government Policy

BPL8: Chattogram outplay Dhaka to register first win

Chattogram Challengers outplayed Minister Group Dhaka by 30 runs in the ongoing Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) on Saturday at Dhaka.

Chattogram set a target of 162 for Dhaka who failed to chase down it and tumbled to 131 all out in 19.5 overs.

Tamim Iqbal, the ODI captain of Bangladesh and opener of Dhaka, hit a fifty once again in a sluggish manner, but that was not enough for Dhaka to set a good foundation for the chase.

Dhaka lost only one wicket in the first 10 overs, but they failed to keep up with the required rate. Tamim was firm at one end of the wicket, but his teammates came and went.

After Tamim’s dismissal in the 12th over, Dhaka lost four wickets for just 10 runs and they never recovered from that collapse.

Left-arm pacer Shoriful Islam bagged four wickets for Chattogram while Nasum Ahmed scalped three conceding only 9 runs in four overs.

Earlier, Mahmudullah Riyad-led Dhaka won the toss and sent the Challengers to bat first. Despite losing opening partner Kennar Lewis early, the dangerous Will Jacks’24-ball 41 (six 4s and two 6s) helped the Challengers to get a fast start.

Afif Hossain failed to impress once again as he posted 12 off 12 this time. But Sabbir Rahman, who had been out of the limelight for a long time, posted 29 off 17 balls with two big sixes and two fours.

Captain Mehidy posted 25, and Howell scored 37 off 19 balls with three sixes and one four.

For Dhaka, right-arm veteran pacer Rubel Hossain was the best bowler taking three wickets conceding 26 runs in four overs while Arafat Sunny, Isuru Udana, Shuavagata Hom and Mahmudullah took one wicket each.

Dhaka are now bottom of the 6-team table early on. In their maiden appearance, Dhaka failed to defend 183 against Khulna Tigers. Challengers had lost their first match to Fortune Barishal.

Dhaka will take on Fortune Barishal on January 24 in their next match while Chattogram will play against Khulna Tigers on the same day.

Source: United News of Bangladesh