BPL Football: Ctg Abahani force Dhaka Abahani to taste first defeat

Coming from behind, Chittagong Abahani Ltd forced six time-champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd to taste first defeat in the 12-team Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football 2021-22 upsetting their superior Dhaka rivals by 3-2 goals at the Shaheed Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium in Cumilla Tuesday evening.

With the day’s debacle, the treble mission of the Independence Cup and Federation Cup champions Dhaka Abahani suffered a big blow and they went down in the title race having 13 points from six encounters.

Holders Bashundhara Kings dominate the league table securing 15 points from six matches while Ctg Abahani also entered into the title race collecting 12 points from six encounters.

In the day’s crucial match, Russian World Cup playing Costa Rica booter Daniel Colindres put Dhaka Abahani ahead in the 16th minute (1-0).

But their lead was very short lived as Ctg Abahani’s Nigerian forward Peter Ebimobowei Thankgod equalised the margin n the 20th minute (1-1).

South African winger William Twala put Ctg Abahani ahead from behind in the 37th minute (2-1) to the frustration of Dhaka Abahani fans

Afghan midfielder Omid Popalzay scored the 3rd goal for Ctg Abahani astonishing Dhaka Abahani tent in the 64th minute that ultimately assured the defeat of popular sky-blue Dhanmondi outfit (3-1).

However, Brazilian midfielder Raphael Augusto pulled the margin one back just one minute before the final whistle (3-2) but failed to avoid the embarrassing defeat.

Source: United News of Bangladesh