BPL Football: Bashundhara Kings take solo lead beating Rahmatganj 3-0

Federation Cup champions Bashundhara Kings took the solo lead in the 13-team Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football, beating Rahmatganj MFS 3-0 on Wednesday.

With the day’s feat at the Bangabandhu National Stadium, star-studded Bashundhara Kings topped the league table with an all-win run, securing highest 12 points from four matches. And Rahmatganj MFS remained stuck at one point in four games.

Six times champions Dhaka Abahani and three times champions Sheikh Jamal earned full nine points in three matches.

In the day’s match, Brazilian booter Robson Robinho put the Kings ahead in the 34th minute from a penalty (1-0).

Bashundhara Kings widened the lead in the stoppage time of the first half (45+2th minute) when Rahmatganj defender Mahmudul Hasan Kiron sent the ball to his net while he was trying foil a King’s attempt (2-0).

Towhidul Alam Sabuj sealed the fate of the match scoring the third goal for the Kings in the 68th minute (3-0).

Although Rahmatganj lost the match by a big margin, they fought bravely with their mighty opponents until the final whistle.

Dhaka Abahani will play their traditional rivals Dhaka Mohammedan at 3pm at the Shaheed Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium in Cumilla on Thursday.

Also, Sheikh Russel KC will meet Chittagong Abahani at 3:30pm, while Muktijoddha Sangsad will encounter Saif SC at 6pm, both at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in Thursday’s other league fixtures.

Source: United News of Bangladesh