BPL 2022: Victorians continue on winning-streak

With three convincing wins in as many games the Comilla Victorians continued to dominate the ongoing season of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

In their latest match on Monday, the Victorians beat Chattogram Challengers by a big margin of 52 runs riding on wonderful batting shows by Liton Das, Faf du Plessis, and Cameron Delport, and disciplined bowling from Nahidul Islam and Mustafizur Rahman.

Before this match, Comilla won their first two matches against Sylhet Sunrisers and Fortune Barishal.

On Monday, Chattogram won the toss and sent Comilla to bat first who posted a challenging total of 183 for three wickets in 20 overs.

They lost Mahmudul Hasan Joy in the second over, but in the second wicket stand, Liton and Faf du Pless added 80 runs to lay down a solid foundation for them.

Liton fell for 47 in his first appearance in this year’s BPL, but Faf was firm at the other end of the wicket. Imrul Kayes failed to impress with the bat as the left-hander returned only with a run.

In the fourth wicket stand, Faf and Cameron posted 97 runs to set a tough target for Chattogram who had two wins in five matches they had played before this match.

For Chattogram, left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed scalped two wickets.

In reply, Chattogram never were able to pose a threat to the Victorians. They lost the opener, Kennar Lewis, in the first over only for four runs, and in the second over, they lost Afif Hossain as well. Inside 39 runs, they lost Sabbir Rahman.

Two of their first three wickets fell prey to Nahidul who ended up taking three wickets conceding 17 runs in four overs.

Opener Will Jacks was leading the Challengers with the bat, but his effort went in vain as they tumbled for 131 all out in 17.3 overs. Jacks ended up on 69 off 42 balls.

While Nahidul took three, Mustafizur bagged two wickets conceding 26 in three overs.

Victorians will take on Minister Group Dhaka on February 1 while the Challengers will play Fortune Barishal on the same day. Both the matches will take place in Chattogram.

Source: United News of Bangladesh