Bangabandhu T20 Cup: Rajshahi stun Dhaka in event opener

In the opening game of Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020, Minister Group Rajshahi stunned Beximco Dhaka winning the game by two runs at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

Despite hitting three sixes in the 19th over, Muktar Ali failed to score nine runs in the last over bowled by Mehedi Hasan, which resulted in a two-run defeat for Mushfiqur Rahim-led Dhaka.

Dhaka needed to amass 36 runs in the last three overs to reach a target of 170 runs in 20 overs. In the 18th over, bowled by Ebadat Hossain, Dhaka managed only six runs. But they made a good comeback in the 19th over, bowled by Farhad Reza, scoring 21 runs riding on the three sixes by Muktar.

They needed nine runs in the last over. Muktar missed the first three balls bowled cleverly by Mehedi. Muktar hit a four off the fourth ball. The very next delivery was a no-ball. The right-handed Muktar disappointed Dhaka in the fifth ball— he failed to score anything. And in the last ball, he managed a mere single.

Eventually, Dhaka ended up on 167 for five and lost the game by two runs.

Replying to Rajshahi’s 169, Dhaka posted 55 runs losing first three wickets— Tazid Hasan (18), Yasir Ali (9), Mohammad Naim (26). In the fourth wicket stand, Mushfiqur and Akbar Ali added 71 runs. Akbar fell prey to Farhad Reza for 34 while hitting a boundary, and Mushfiqur added 41 to the board. Mushfiqur was dismissed by Ebadat while playing a scoop.

Sabbir Rahman and Muktar remained unbeaten for five and 27 respectively.

For Rajshahi, Mehedi, Ebadat, Farhad and Arafat Sunny bagged one wicket each.

Earlier, Mehedi smashed 50 off 32 balls with three fours and four sixes to propel his team to 169 for nine in 20 overs.

Mushfiqur, the captain of Dhaka, won the toss and sent Rajshahi to bat first. Najmul Hossain Shanto, captain of Rajshahi and Anisul Islam Emon added 31 runs in 3.5 overs opening the innings.

Left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed scalped the first wicket removing Najmul for 17 off 16 balls with two sixes. While going to 65 from 31, Rajshahi lost four more wickets— Rony Taluker (6), Mohammad Ashraful (5), Emon (35) and Fazle Mahmud (0).

But in the sixth wicket stand, Nurul Hasan and Mehedi added 89 runs. Nurul made 39 off 20 balls with two fours and three sixes. And, Mehedi smashed the first fifty of the event in style. Eventually, Rajshahi posted 169 for nine in 20 overs.

For Dhaka, Muktar Ali took three wickets conceding 22 in four overs while Mehedi Hasan Rana, Nasum Ahmed and Nayeem Hasan took one wicket each.

In the second game of the day, Gemcon Khulna took on Fortune Barishal at the same venue. This match will be marked as Shakib Al Hasan’s comeback after serving a two-year ban, with one year is suspended, which was imposed on the allrounder by the ICC due to failing to report corrupt approaches made to him by the bookmakers.

Source: United News of Bangladesh