Bangabandhu T20 Cup: playoff begins Monday

After the 20-match league phase, the Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020 is all set to enter the playoff phase on Monday. Apart from Minister Group Rajshahi, the other four teams have qualified for this round.

In the first game of the playoffs— the Eliminator, Beximco Dhaka will take on Fortune Barishal. These two teams locked horns in the last match of the league-phase as well, in which, Barishal came up victorious despite a century from Mohammad Naim.

The two-run win over Dhaka helped Barishal to ensure a playoff berth. Saif Hassan, Affif Hossain and Towhid Hridoy hit a fifty each to guide Barishal to the last four of the event.

Barsihal entered to the playoffs with only three wins in eight games in the league phase while Dhaka won four matches. The losing party of the Eliminator will be out of the race of the title of Bangabandhu T20 Cup.

In the second game of the playoffs- the Qualifier 1, the table-topper Gazi Group Chattogram will take on Gemcon Khulna. The winner of this game will advance to the final while the losers will take on the winner of the Eliminator in the Qualifier 2.

Chattogram won seven out of their eight games in the league phase while Khulna came up victorious in four occasions in the same phase of the event.

The third game of the playoffs— the Qualifier 2, will be played between the winner of the Eliminator and loser of the Qualifier 1. This match will take place on December 15.

The final will be played on December 18 between the winners of the qualifiers.

Best performers of the league-phase of Bangabandhu T20 Cup

There were some exceptional performances in the league phase of the Bangabandhu T20 Cup as Najmul Hossain Shanto, Parvez Hossain Emon and Mohammad Naim have hit the centuries for Minister Group Rajshahi, Fortune Barishal and Beximco Dhaka respectively.

Liton Das of Chattogram topped the list scoring 306 runs in seven games with three fifties while Tamim Iqbal (302), Najmul Hossain Shanto (301) and Soumya Sarkar (253) and Mohammad Naim (243) are the others batsmen in the top-five to score most runs in the event so far.

Anisul Islam Emon and Towhid Hriody also did well with the bat in the league-phase. Emon, a new face, hit two fifties and drew the attention of many with his power-hitting abilities.

With the ball, Mustafizur Rahman did well taking 16 wickets in seven matches, with the best figures of taking four wickets conceding only five runs.

Kamrul Islam Rabbi, who is the second-best bowler in the league-phase taking 14 wickets, registered the first and only hattrick of the event. Shohidul Islam and Muktar Ali are the third and fourth-best bowler of the event taking 13 wickets each. Robiul Islam Robi places after them taking 12 wickets. Robiul is the only bowler of the event so far to register a five-wicket haul.

Schedule of playoffs of Bangabandhu T20

Eliminator: Beximco Dhaka vs Fortune Barishal at 12:30pm on December 14

Qualifier 1: Gazi Group Chattogram vs Gemcon Khulna at 5:30pm on December 14

Qualifier 2: Winner of Eliminator vs Loser Qualifier 1, Qualifier 2 at 4:30pm on December 15

Final: Winner of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Qualifier 2 at 4:30pm on December 18

Source: United News of Bangladesh