Bangabandhu T20 Cup: Khulna ropes in Shakib, Mahmudullah

The players draft of Bangabandhu T20 League 2020 took place in a hotel in the capital on Thursday.

In the draft, Gemcon Khulna roped in two players from Grade A— Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah Riyad.

This league is BCB’s second big step to come out from the Covid-19 situation to resume cricketing activities in the country.

Earlier, they organized a 50-over competition comprising three teams. This time, a total of five teams will participate in this league, and a total of 80 players have found their team among 157 cricketers who were placed in the draft.

Mushfiqur Rahim was the first cricketer to have been roped in by Beximco Dhaka. It was expected that the team who gets the first chance to call will secure the service of Shakib Al Hasan. But the management of Beximco Dhaka went for Mushfiqur.

The other players from Grade A are — Mustafizur Rahman and Tamim Iqbal— will play for Gazi Group Chattogram and Fortune Barishal respectively. Minister Group Rajshahi opted to not call any player from Grade A.

Mohammad Ashraful, the former captain of Bangladesh, will represent Rajshahi in this league along with the veteran allrounder Farhad Reza. Jahurul Islam Omi will play for Khulna while Sohrawardi Shuvo will represent Barishal.

Before the draft, a total of 113 cricketers, who are out of the national team, HP or U-19 setup, participated in a fitness test. Who ended up the test with at least 11 points, got the chance to be named in the draft.

The schedule of the league is yet to be announced, but some sources of BCB confirmed that the league will commence in the third week of this month.

Teams of Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020:

Beximco Dhaka:

Mushfiqur Rahim, Rubel Hossain, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Nasum Ahmed, Naeem Sheikh, Naeem Hassan, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Akbar Ali, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Muktar Ali, Shafiqul Islam, Abu Hider Rony, Pinak Ghosh, Robiul Islam Robi

Fortune Barishal:

Tamim Iqbal Khan, Afif Hossian Dhrubo, Taskin Ahmed, Irfan Shukkur, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Abu Jayed Rahi, Towhid Hridoy, Tanvir Islam, Sumon Khan, Mohammad Saif Hassan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mahidul Ankon, Pervez Hossain Emon, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Abu Sayem, Sohrawardi Shuvo

Gemcon Khulna:

Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Imrul Kayes, Hasan Mahmud, Al Amin Hossian, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Shamim Patowary, Ariful Haque, Shafiul Islam, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Shohidul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Zakir Hasan, Nazmul Islam Apu, Salman Hossain, Jahurul Islam Omi

Minister Group Rajshahi:

Mohammad Saifuddin, Sk Mahadi Hasan, Nazmul Hossian Shanto, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Farhad Reza, Mohammad Ashraful, Arafat Sunny, Ebadat Hossian, Fazle Mahmud Rabbi, Rony Talukder, Anisul Emon, Rezaur Rahman, Jaker Ali Aunik, Rakibul Hasan (Snr), Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Sunzamul Islam

Gazi Group Chattogram:

Mustafizur Rahman, Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarker, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Shoriful Islam, Ziaur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Shamsur Rahman, Nahidul Islam, Md Shykat Ali, Mominul Haque, Rakibul Hasan, Sanjit Saha, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Mehadi Hasan