Asian Chess: Bangladesh eliminated from open section

Bangladesh team were eliminated from the preliminary phase in the open section of the Asian Nations Cup Online Chess Championship 2020 on Sunday.

Bangladesh finished 10th securing 11 match points from nine matches to be eliminated from the meet, organized by the Asian Chess Federation.

Top eight teams advanced to the quarter-finals from open section.

The seventh, eighth and ninth round matches of the open section were held on Sunday.

In the seventh round, Bangladesh team defeated Japan by 2.5-1.5 game points.

For Bangladesh, Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman and Grandmaster Reefat Bin Sattar defeated FIDE Master Baba Masahiro and Otawa Yuto of Japan respectively. Grandmaster Niaz Murshed drew with Japanese Candidate Master Tran Thanh Tu and International Master Mohammad Fahad Rahman lost to International Master Nanjo Ryosukie of Japan.

In the eighth round, Bangladesh lost to India by 0.5-3.5 game points.

Only Bangladeshi Grandmaster Reefat Bin Sattar drew with Grandmaster SP Sethuraman of India.

Grandmaster Niaz Murshed, Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman and International Master Mohammad Minhaz Uddin Sagar lost to B Adhiban, Surya Shekhar Ganguly and Krishnan Sasikiran of India respectively.

In the ninth or final round, Bangladesh defeated Sri Lanka by 4-0 game points.

Bangladesh’s International Master Fahad, Grandmaster Zia, Grandmaster Reefat and International Master Sagor defeated Sri Lankan FIDE Master Thilakarathne, GMH FIDE Master Doluweera, Minul Sanjula, Candidate Master Liyanage, Ranindu Dilshanand and FIDE Master De Silva respectively.

After the nine round first phase, Iran finished top with 15 points, the Philippines became second and Mongolia became third with 14 points each. Australia finished fourth with 13 points and Indonesia, India, Kazakhstan and Singapore finished 5th to 8th places with 12 points each.

The top eight teams will play in the quarter finals of the open section on Monday (October 19).

However, the seventh, eighth and ninth round matches of the women’s section will be held on Monday.

Source: United News of Bangladesh