Government Policy

AL to hold dialogue with President Hamid on Monday

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will lead a 10-member delegation of her Awami League party at a dialogue with President Abdul Hamid on the formation of the next Election Commission at Bangabhaban on Monday, the ruling party said.

President’s press secretary Joynal Abedin told UNB on Sunday that the president’s meeting with the AL delegation is scheduled for 4 pm.

AL said party president Sheikh Hasina will participate in the talks.

The delegation will also comprise General Secretary Obaidul Quader, members of AL advisory council- Amir Hossain Amu and Tofail Ahmed, and presidium members- Begum Matiya Chowdhury, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Dr Muhammad Abdur Razzaque, Lt. Col. (Retd.) Muhammad Faruq Khan, Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Abdur Rahman.

President Hamid opened the dialogue on formation of the next EC on December 20.

According to Bangabhaban press wing, 32 political parties were invited in phases joined the talks while the parties which has representation in the parliament were invited in the first phase.

On the other hand, seven political parties declined to take part in the dialogue.

The country has now 39 registered political parties, according to the EC website and only nine of them have representation in Parliament.

The nine parties are Bangladesh Awami League, Jatiya Party, Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), Bangladesh Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-Jasod, Bikalpadhara Bangladesh, Ganoforum, Bangladesh Tarikat Federation and Jatiya Party-JP.

The current EC is scheduled to end its five-year term in February next.

Source: United News of Bangladesh