AL candidates dominate local body polls

Unofficial results show candidates of the ruling Awami League (AL) dominating the elections and by-elections to Zila, Upazila and Union parishads held Tuesday.

More than 200 local bodies went to polls with balloting starting at 9pm and continuing till 5pm without any break. Unofficial results from a number of these local bodies have started to come in.

In Cumilla, AL’s Nurjahan Islam bagged 276,158 votes while his rival BNP’s candidate got 12,154.

In Barura upazila, the BNP candidates boycotted the polls raising allegations of irregularities. Voting was suspended at two polling stations, said Returning Officer Md Alamgir Hossain.

He said AL’s Misbahur Rahman has been unofficially announced the winner.

In Sarankhola upazila of Bagerhat, AL’s Rayhan Uddin won with 56,188 votes, said Returning Officer Benzir Ahmed.

In Naogaon’s Manda upazila, AL candidate Mollah Endadul Haque secured 80,136 votes and won.

Meanwhile, AL candidates won in Patikapara union and Goddimari union in Lalmonirhat but an independent won in Dalgram union.

In Chuadanga, AL candidates won in Goraitupi union of Sadar upazila and Dauki union of Alamdanga upazila.

Among the local bodies, regular elections were held to one Upazila Parishad (Daudkandi of Cumilla) and 15 union parishads in different districts amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Besides, by-polls were held to seven zila parishads, eight upazila parishads and 177 union parishads.

The 15 union parishads where regular elections were held are — three each in Rangpur Sadar Upazila and Lohagara Upazila of Chattogram, two each in Bhangura of Pabna and Madhukhali of Faridpur, one each in Kalapara of Patuakhali, Lalmohan of Bhola, Chuadanga Sadar, Rupganj of Narayanganj and Fatikchhari of Chattogram.

By-polls to chairman posts were held at 41 union parishads.

Source: United News of Bangladesh