7 arrested for attacking presiding officer in Cumilla UP election


Police have arrested seven people in connection with beating and knifing a presiding officer and a policeman during the union council election in Cumilla’s Barura.

The arrestees have been named as Saiful, Shaheen, Qadir, Rahman, Saddam, Khair and Ahsan.

They were sent to jail after being produced to the court on Thursday, police sources said.

It is learned that the supporters of two member candidates tried to occupy the polling centre at Dhewatali Government Primary School in Jhalom union of Baruda upazila on 28 November.

During this time, they vandalize the furniture and snatch the ballot papers.

They attacked and injured Golam Sarwar Bhuiyan, presiding officer in charge of the centre and Abu Hanif, sub-inspector of police. As the situation got worse the polling in the centre was suspended.

Assistant presiding officer and Maheshpur Azizia High School assistant teacher Md. Ahidul Islam filed a case in Barura Police Station mentioning the names of 11 persons and 25 unnamed persons.

Barura Thana Officer-in-Charge Iqbal Bahar Majumder said that so far Barura Thana police have arrested seven people. Efforts are being made to arrest the rest.

The culprits will be brought under the law, he said.

Source: United News of Bangladesh