4th round of BPL Football begins Thursday at new venue

The home and away basis 4th round of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football 2021-22 begins Thursday (Feb 17) at a new city venue –Bashundhara Sports Complex (Bashundhara Kings Arena).

Last two times champions Bashundhara Kings will start the campaign in their newly constructed home venue –Bashundhara Sports Complex-taking on Bangladesh Police FC in the opening 4th round match, kicks off at 3: pm.

In the day’s other match, Joints league leader and last time runners-up Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club will meet Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society at the Sylhet District Stadium , also at 3 pm.

The first three rounds of the BPL football was held at two venues adjacent to the capital—Shaheed Ahsanullah Master Stadium in Tongi and Bir Shreshtha FL Lt Motiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj- due to increasing trend of Covid- 19 pandemic in the country.

But,the league committee in it’s last meeting have decided to arrange BPL in old format of home away basis in six venues across the country, sparing the Shaheed Ahsanullah Master Stadium in Tongi for Archery.

Apart from Bashundhara Sports Complex and Sylhet District Stadium, four other venues are: Bir Shreshtha FL Lt Motiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj, Gopalganj Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni Stadium, Cumilla Shaheed Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium and Rajshahi Muktijoddha Smriti Stadium.

After the first three round matches, six times champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd and three times champions Sheikh Jamal DC dominated the league table, with an unbeaten record collecting seven points each from straight three league matches.

The joint leaders are followed by holders Bashundhara Kings and Saif SC with six points each, Dhaka Mohammedan SC and Chittagong Abahani Ltd with five points each.

Source: United News of Bangladesh