4th phase municipal polls: All candidates to be elected unopposed in Parshuram

In Feni’s Parshuram municipality, the race is over even before it began. There will likely be no voting on February 14 as there are single candidates for all 10 posts, including the mayor.

But if any candidate steps down from the race by Jan 26, the last date for withdrawing candidature, then there will be fresh schedule.

“No election will be held since there are single candidates for all posts. But there will be new election schedule if any candidate withdraws candidacy,” District Election Officer Md Hanif said.

Jan 17 was the last date for filing nomination but the BNP chose to sit out the election.

Without any BNP opposition, all nine word councilors and reserved women councillors along with the mayor will now be elected uncontested, election officials said.

Awami League’s upazila unit General Secretary and incumbent Mayor Nizam Uddin Ahmed Chowdhury Sazel will be reelected. It will be his third term as mayor.

Abdul Mannan Liton was vying for ward 1, Khurshid Alam ward 2, Abu Taher ward 3, Abdul Mannan, ward 4, Enamul Haq Enam ward 5, Kamal Uddin ward 6, Nijam Uddin Chowdhury Sumon ward 7, Rasul Ahammed Majumder Swapan ward 8, and Abu Shahadat Chowdhury Liton ward 9.

On the other hand, Aftoza Aktar filed nomination for reserved seat of wards 1, 2 and 3; Rahela Akter wards 4, 5 and 6; and Halima Akter wards 7, 8 and 9.

All of them are single candidates and with the date for filing nomination has passed, they will elected uncontested.

Election Officer Saiful said there has been untoward incident since the schedule was announced and they did not receive any complaint of corruption.

In the 4th phase, 56 municipalities in different districts were scheduled to go to polls on February 14.

Source: United News of Bangladesh