3 new Appellate Division Judges take oath

Three of the four newly appointed judges to the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court took oath of office on Sunday.

Those who took oath are Justice Borhanuddin, Justice M Enayetur Rahim and Justice Krishna Debnath.

Chief Justice Hasan Foez Siddique administered the oath at the Supreme Court Judges Lounge around 10:30 am.

Earlier in the day, four judges of the High Court were appointed judges to the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court.

About the absence of Justice FRM Nazmul Ahasan at the oath-taking ceremony, the Chief Justice said, “Justice FRM Nazmul Ahasan has been undergoing treatment at a hospital in the city as he was infected with Covid-19. I have talked to him and he said he will take oath once he gets well.”

The Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Ministry issued a gazette notification in this regard on Sunday after President Abdul Hamid appointed them.

Currently, there are four judges in the Appellate Division –Hasan Foez Siddique (now Chief Justice), Muhammad Imman Ali, Md. Nuruzzaman and Obaidul Hassan.

Source: United News of Bangladesh