Medical &Health

12th session of Parliament begins

The session began at 11:00am with Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair. The House went into the session to meet the Constitutional obligation amid the fresh surge of the Covid-19 infection in Bangladesh.

At the outset of the session, the Speaker nominated a five-member panel of chairmen.

The panel members are Md Abdul Quddus (Natore-4), Mrinal Kanti Das (Munshiganj-3), Md Nazrul Islam Babu (Narayanganj-2), Md Mujibul Haque (Kishoreganj-3) and Shahadara Mannan (Bogura-1).

They will conduct the proceedings of Parliament in chronological order in absence of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker.

The 12th session of the 11th Parliament will continue for a short period of time due to the growing transmission of Coronavirus.

On March 15 last, President Abdul Hamid summoned the session.

According to the Constitution, a period exceeding 60 days shall not intervene between the end of one session and the first sitting of Parliament in the next session.

The 11th session (the first session in 2021) was prorogued on February 2 last and the House passed six bills during the previous session.

Source: United News of Bangladesh